Who Has The Time? Well, Me Actually…Lots Of It!

I have often wondered what it would feel like to wake up super refreshed and ready to jump out of bed? I always wished I was That Girl who would pop right out of bed and get on to the gym and rock a morning workout. But I live in reality and know that I am not That Girl. This is  becoming more and more obvious with the lack of a 9-5 commitment in my life. Why do I need to rush out of bed when I have a whole day to get my “to-do” list done? And forget just having “A” day, I’ve got seven days. In-A-Row! Experts will say lack of deadlines do not encourage high levels of productivity. I think I’m becoming a living example of this! “Pick up contacts” has been on the list for a record setting four weeks!

Girlfriend LeeLane called yesterday, a typical conversation includes her frustration with the long commute + stress of the job + responsibilities at home. I vaguely remember what that was like. At the moment the longest commute of my day is from desk to the local coffee shop. It is a whole whopping 5 blocks and apparently I’ve decided that is too far, as I am sipping my home brewed coffee right now.

LeeLane, always the super supportive friend, suggested I create a schedule for myself with set times for activity, social networking, job searching..etc. She is so smart! I thought about that this morning after I hit the snooze button repeatedly, checked my Blackberry from bed and finally got up because I realized I only have an hour and a half  to drink my coffee, shower, write this post, check all things Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and email related before my first appointment of the day.

Maybe I’ll try her schedule idea tomorrow, my day is completely open!


October 29, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Stephanie Benford replied:

    I can relate to your post. I was laid off in May and thought by now I would be in super shape, have a spotless house, do all those things I was too busy to do when working full time. Hah! I did take three classes and joined several job networks. I am currently fielding one job offer and have another interview lined up. Those nights of staying up until 3 a.m. on the computer are probably soon to be over. In one way, my “time off” was a much needed break though.

    • twirtygrrl replied:

      WOW Stephanie, that sounds fantastic, you are an inspiration! Good luck for you with the job offer and interview!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI